One Page at a Time.

one page, one story, one life.

Growing in 5 Minutes …

Leave a comment


A Wrinkle in Time

It’s the very end of the day Friday … the first full day of Autumn. Usually on Friday mornings I link up with Lisa-Jo and the Five Minute Writes over on The Gypsy Mama blog … where we throw caution and grammatical rules to the wind and simply write on the prompt from the heart.

No rules, no thought … just documenting where the heart goes.

I didn’t get to this this morning … and mulled it over and over and some more throughout the day. Funny how something so proactive and so forwardly positive can be so difficult to put into words.

So here I go, finally on this sticky Indian Summer Mid-Night … seriously at this moment it is mid-night …

Write with me on …. Growing

Go…

When we are children our parents mark our growth … some in cute and never finished baby books … some with pencil and ruler on a door frame. Documenting the milestones of a child.

I think God does this … but He does it on the inside …

Our first day of life …

Our first tear in the palm of His mighty hand …

Our first broken heart … and everyone since thereafter …

Our first kiss … love … child …

The milestones of a life.

My grandmother told me something about gardening this week. I personally have a black thumb … but her’s remains vibrant green at the age of 88. She said to root a flower that I wanted for my yard I had to prune the bloom.

The beautiful, vibrant blue flower had to be plucked to speed up the roots growth …

Later in the week, at my church’s mid-week service was about the pruning of the vine … John 15:1-8

I am the true vine ~ Jesus

Father, the Gardener ~ God

I think that’s where God has me … in the pruning stages, again. It will be ten years that I have been saved of my own choosing. Ten Years of saying I’m a Christian, truly meaning that my lifestyle had changed. Ten years of rapid growth in Christ … growth in fellowship.

Ten Years of covering my foundation with Christ and God and the Word and the real things and ways of life. Yet somehow, I have developed a bloom of religion. Things have happened, life has happened, disappointments have happened, and my Growth became stunted.

I think I became root bound … and now comes the pruning and the rooting …

God is pruning me of all the religion, all the pretty, right words that make it appear I’m living a Good Christian life … pruning the bloom, so that I can begin Growing again … on this vine onwhich He has so  graciously grafted me.

For this I am grateful!

STOP …

That was a bit over 5 minutes … and I have a photo to add. So once again, please forgive my wordiness! 🙂

And then I found this:

It just illuminated itself in relation to John 15:1-8 … God is amazing, I think!

GRAFT:  From Dictionary.com

a.a bud, shoot, or scion of a plant inserted in a groove, slit, or the like in a stem or stock of another plant in which it continues to grow. b.the plant resulting from such an operation; the united stock and scion.

This has been a 5 minute post!

Blessings Loves!

Author: Hopeannfaith

Welcome, I'm Andrea ... HOPEannFAITH ... I write and take pictures as a way of expression. These are gifts given by a loving and indulgent Father, to a headstrong and stubborn daughter, with much to say. A semi-retired social worker/secretary, I now call myself a writer. I've published one internet article and written many blog posts. However, publishing does not make one a writer, anymore than taking a box camera to the park makes one a photographer. What makes one who and what they are? Well God for one ... formed me before the foundations of this world (Psalm 139); and many, many years after putting away my passion for wordsmithing and picture taking He gave it back ... in droves. I am a culmination of my choices and experiences. It is here that my experiences color the world in print and color. It is my goal to reach just one soul a day with love ... encouragement ... understanding or just letting that soul know that they are not alone where they are today. This is about creating ~ all of it. Creating a HOLY and SACRED place where the ugly truth can be healed and the beauty of a moment or a tear can brighten a day for the experience. Why HOPEannFAITH? Hopeannfaith is my inner child, and she is maturing, as she should have done all along. She is learning all about how Faith fulfills Hope. She is learning how to live. HOPEannFAITH ~ the wonder twins all wrapped up in one, me. These are my Journey Journals ~ written and visual. I welcome your company. I welcome your friendships. My Journey is in the light ~ although I have and will share the shadowy corners and the dark ~ so you know that you are never alone there. If we hold hands in the dark, and we walk, side by side, through the shadow, we will reach the Light together. In relationship with one another and with the Light. Blessings.

Leave a comment